Dr. Michael Schwanenberger

Dr. Michael Schwanenberger

Michael Schwanenberger Ed. D.—Associate Professor and Department Chair of Educational Leadership, Northern Arizona University

Dr. Schwanenberger currently serves as a tenured associate professor and department chair in the Department of Educational Leadership at Northern Arizona University. Dr. Schwanenberger has been a dedicated educator serving as a Pre-K-12 teacher and coach, athletic director, middle school principal, high school principal, assistant regional superintendent and superintendent. He received his Bachelor of Science degree from Northern Arizona University, a Master of Education—Secondary Education degree, Master of Education—Educational Administration degree, and his Doctor of Education—Educational Administration degree from the University of Arizona.

He serves as a member of Northern Arizona University's Academic Chairs Council Executive Committee, College of Education Leadership Team, Arizona School Administrators Higher Education Division, NAU /Trust Leadership Academy, and he is past president of the Arizona Professors of Educational Administration and Arizona’s representative to the National Council of Professors of Educational Administration along with serving as a member of the Northern Arizona University, President’s University Leadership Program. Research interests include leadership, educational policies and issues, rural school leadership and governing board and superintendent relations.


Dr. Schwanenberger is the recipient of the 2016 Arizona School Administrator’s Outstanding Higher Education Administrator Award. In 2019, Dr. Schwanenberger was an invited participant at the United States Air Force War College at The Air University, 66th Annual National Security Forum, Maxwell Air Force Base, Montgomery Alabama. He is a recent graduate of the National Institute of School Leadership’s Executive Leadership Program.

Dr. Schwanenberger is the past president and an executive board member of the International Council of Professors of Educational Leadership, Executive Board of Educational Leaders Without Borders, member of the Arizona Advanced Council, and the secretary of the Arizona School Administrators High Education Division.